PSA 2014


General Information

The Twenty-Fourth Biennial Meeting of the Philosophy of Science Association took place November 6-9, 2014, in Chicago, Illinois, at The Westin Michigan Avenue. We met jointly with the 2014 Meeting of the History of Science Society.

PSA 2014 Final Program

Post or View PSA Papers on Phil Sci Archive

PSA2014 Abstracts

PSA 2014 Registration

PSA 2014 Hotel Information

Travel To and Within Chicago

Local Guide to Chicago


Interest Group Lunches: Sign Up Online Now

NSF Travel Grants

Sponsorship Opportunities for PSA2014

  • Thanks to the following for Sponsorship of PSA2014. These sponsorships not only enhance the meeting, but also help keep the meeting affordable.
    • University of Notre Dame; University of Maryland, Baltimore County; National Science Foundation; The Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, Northwestern University; The Graduate School, Northwestern University; The Department of History, Northwestern University; Morris Fishbein Center for the History of Science and Medicine at the University of Chicago; University of Chicago Press; University of Chicago Press, Journals Division; The Chemical Heritage Foundation; Brent Dibner, Dibner Institute; Miles Davis; Educational Advancement Foundation; Albert C. Lewis; David Kaiser; Science, Technology and Society Program at the University of Michigan; Program in Science, Technology and Society at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Department of Logic and Philosophy of Science at the University of California, Irvine; School of Social Sciences, University of California, Irvine; Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Pittsburgh; Program for History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Notre Dame; and the Minnesota Center for Philosophy of Science, University of Minnesota.

Contact Information

For questions about PSA 2014, please contact the PSA Executive Secretary, Jessica Pfeifer, at Questions about submissions should be directed to the Chair of the Program Committee for PSA 2014, Chris Smeenk.

Program Committee

  • Chair: Chris Smeenk (Western University)
  • Anna Alexandrova (University of Cambrdige)
  • Holly Andersen (Simon Fraser University)
  • Brad Armendt (Arizona State University)
  • Bill Bechtel (University of California, San Diego)
  • Kevin Elliott (University of South Carolina)
  • Melinda Fagan (Rice University)
  • Patrick Forber (Tufts University)
  • Doreen Fraser (University of Waterloo)
  • Jim Griesemer (University of California, Davis)
  • Simon Huttegger (University of California Irvine)
  • Colin Klein (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Rebecca Kukla (Georgetown University)
  • Alyssa Ney (University of Rochester)
  • Lydia Patton (Virginia Tech)
  • Kristina Rolin (University of Helsinki, Finland)
  • Paul Roth (University of California, Santa Cruz)
  • Jim Weatherall (University of California, Irvine)
  • Michael Weisberg (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Charlotte Werndl (London School of Economics)
  • Eric Winsberg (University of South Florida)