2021 PSA Election Results

On behalf of the Governing Board of the Philosophy of Science Association, it is my pleasure to announce the results of the 2021 PSA Election. Thanks to all those who voted. We had an excellent turnout.

Governing Board

Jacqueline Sullivan

Jacqueline Sullivan

University of Western Ontario
St├ęphanie Ruphy

Stéphanie Ruphy

Ecole Normale Supérieure

Jacqueline Sullivan (University of Western Ontario) and Stéphanie Ruphy (Ecole Normale Supérieure - University PSL) were elected to the PSA Governing Board. Each will serve a four-year term (from 1/1/22 through 12/31/25). As of January 1, 2022, the Governing Board of the PSA will comprise:

  • Hanne Andersen (Københavns Universitet), 2019/01/01 - 2022/12/31
  • Sean A. Valles (Michigan State University), 2019/01/01 - 2022/12/31
  • Soazig Le Bihan (University of Montana), 2020/01/01 - 2023/12/31
  • Kareem Khalifa (Middlebury College), 2020/01/01 - 2023/12/31
  • Anya Plutynski (Washington University in St. Louis), 2021/01/01 - 2024/12/31
  • Jutta Schickore (Indiana University), 2021/01/01 - 2024/12/31
  • Jacqueline Sullivan (University of Western Ontario), 2022/01/01 - 2025/12/31
  • Stéphanie Ruphy (Ecole Normale Supérieure - University PSL), 2022/01/01 - 2025/12/31

Nominating Committee

Julia Bursten

Julia Bursten

University of Kentucky
Matt Haber

Matt Haber

University of Utah
Catherine Kendig

Catherine Kendig

Michigan State University

Julia Bursten of the University of Kentucky, Matt Haber of the University of Utah, and Catherine Kendig of Michigan State University were elected to the Nominating Committee of the PSA. Each will serve a two-year term (1/1/22-12/31/23).

Bylaws Amended

96.8% voted in favoring of amending the PSA Bylaws. The passed amendment updates the appointment of the Executive Director from a four-year term to a five-year term to coincide with the term of the PSA's contract with the University of Cincinnati, which began hosting the PSA's Executive Office in 2021.

Acknowledgment and Thanks

The officers of the PSA welcome and congratulate Professors Sullivan, Ruphy, Bursten, Haber, and Kendig on their election to the PSA Governing Board and Nominating Committee, respectively, and offer their gratitude to all the candidates who ran for election.

The officers also express their appreciation to Alisa Bokulich (Boston University) and Hasok Chang (University of Cambridge), who will be stepping down from the Governing Board at the end of the year, for their dedicated service to the PSA.

The Officers of the PSA also thank the Nominating Committee, comprised of Sabina Leonelli as Chair (University of Exeter), Alan Love (University of Minnesota), and Kerry McKenzie (University of California, San Diego) for assembling a great ballot, and for their service to the PSA over the past three years.

The 2021 PSA Election was conducted electronically using www.simplyvoting.com. PSA members were solicited to vote via email. Of 594 voters eligible to vote in the 2021 PSA election, 305 (51.3%) cast votes.

Finally, I thank those Full and Retired PSA members who took the time to vote in this election. Thank you for helping to shape the future of the PSA.

If you are a Full or Retired Member of the PSA and you encountered problems in voting electronically, or if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns about the 2021 PSA Election, please contact the PSA Executive Office.


Ryan Feigenbaum
PSA Executive Director