Diversity Equity & Inclusion Caucus Awards

The PSA Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Caucus presents two awards biennially:

  • PSA DEI Caucus Prize in Feminist Philosophy of Science

  • PSA DEI Caucus Prize Symposium

  • The DEI Caucus also has a Highlighted Philosopher Series as part of its newsletter, Science Visions.

AnchorPSA DEI Caucus Prize in Feminist Philosophy of Science

This prize is awarded biennially for the best book, article, or chapter published in English in the area of feminist philosophy of science within the five years prior to each PSA meeting. The winner receives an award of $500, which is presented at the PSA meeting.

Stay-tuned for updates.

Past Winners:

Under Construction

Under Construction

Under Construction


Gillian Barker

Gillian Barker for her book, Beyond Biofatalism: Human Nature for an Evolving World. Announcement here.


Victoria Pitts-Taylor

Victoria Pitts-Taylor for her book, The Brain’s Body: Neuroscience and Corporeal Politics.


Helen Longino

Helen Longino, for her book Studying Human Behavior: How Scientists Investigate Aggression and Sexuality.


Inmaculada de Melo-Martín and Kristen Intemann

Inmaculada de Melo-Martín and Kristen Intemann for their article, "Feminist Resources for Biomedical Research: Lessons from the HPV Vaccines".


Elisabeth Lloyd

Elisabeth Lloyd, for her book The Case of the Female Orgasm: Bias in the Science of Evolution.

Sarah Richardson

Sarah Richardson for her essay "Sexes, species, and genomes: Why males and females are not like humans and chimpanzees

AnchorPSA DEI Caucus Prize Symposium

The Prize Symposium was inaugurated in 2016 when the DEI Caucus was known as "Women's Caucus." Please contact the co-chairs of the DEI Caucus for more information about this prize symposium.

Prize Symposia:

Under Construction


"Conceptual and Methodological Challenges in Algorithmic Fairness"

Announcement & Abstract (PDF)

Titles and Participants:

  • Risks of Compounding Injustices in Automated Recruiting
    • Presenting author: Maria De-Arteaga (Carnegie Mellon University)
    • Co-authors: Alexey Romanov (University of Massachusetts Lowell), Hanna Wallach (Microsoft Research), Jennifer Chayes (Microsoft Research), Christian Borgs (Microsoft Research), Alexandra Chouldechova (Carnegie Mellon University), Sahin Geyik (LinkedIn), Krishnaram Kenthapadi (LinkedIn), Anna Rumshisky (University of Massachusetts Lowell), Adam Tauman Kalai (Microsoft Research)
  • Racial Categories in Algorithmic Fairness: methodological issues and recommendations
    • Presenting author: Emily Denton (Google)
    • Co-authors: Alex Hanna (Google), Andrew Smart (Google), Jamila Smith-Loud (Google)
  • A Non-ideal Perspective on Algorithmic Fairness
    • Presenting author: Sina Fazelpour (Carnegie Mellon University)
    • Co-authors: Zachary C. Lipton (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • What’s Sex Got to Do with Machine Learning?
    • Presenting author: Lily Hu (Harvard University)
    • Co-authors: Issa Kohler-Hausmann (Yale University)
  • Fairness in Data-driven Decision-making: a causal modeling perspective
    • Presenting author: Daniel Malinsky (Johns Hopkins University)
    • Co-authors: Razieh Nabi (Johns Hopkins University), Ilya Shpitser (Johns Hopkins University)


"Climate Science and Public Interests: Social Values and Climate Change"

Announcement & Abstract (PDF)

Participants (in speaking order):

  • Anna Leuschner (Leibniz University Hannover)
  • Stephan Lewandowsky (University of Bristol)
  • Erin J. Nash (Durham University)
  • Elisabeth A. Lloyd (Indiana University) and Naomi Oreskes (Harvard University)
  • Greg Lusk (University of Chicago) and Wendy Parker (Durham University)


"Animal Cognition and Animal Welfare"

Announcement & Abstract (PDF)

Participants (in speaking order):

  • Jonathan Birch (LSE)
  • Marta Halina (University of Cambridge)
  • Kristin Andrews (York University, Toronto)
  • Colin Allen (Indiana University Bloomington)
  • Lori Marino (The Kimmela Center for Animal Advocacy)

AnchorHighlighted Philosopher Series

This feature series showcases the work of crowd-nominated under-represented philosophers of science in any career stage, chosen at random from among our nominees. View previous issues of Science Visions or read our blog to see previously Highlighted Philosophers. To nominate an excellent philosopher of science to be a future Highlighted Philosopher, click here.