The International Union of History and Philosophy of Science and Technology
(IUHPST) invites submissions for the first IUHPST Essay Prize in History and
Philosophy of Science. This prize competition, planned to continue on a
biennial basis, seeks to encourage fresh methodological thinking on the history
and philosophy of science as an integrated discipline.

Entries in the form of an essay of 5,000-10,000 words in English are
invited, addressing this year's prize question: "What is the value of
philosophy of science for history of science?" All entries should contain
original work that has not previously been published. For entries written
originally in another language, an English translation should be submitted
with an indication of the translator.

Entries will be judged on the following criteria, in addition to general
academic quality: a direct engagement with this year's prize question, an
effective integration of historical and philosophical perspectives, and
the potential to provide methodological guidance for other researchers in
the field.

The author of the winning entry will be invited to present the work at the
25th International Congress of History of Science and Technology in Rio de
Janeiro (23-29 July 2017), and presenting at the Congress will be a
condition of the award. (The presentation of the winning work will be
considered a 'non-paper-session activity,' and will not interfere with the
possibility of the winner also giving a standard paper at the Congress.)

The award will carry a cash prize of 1,000 U.S. dollars and, in addition,
the cost of hotel accommodation for attending the Congress, though the
Congress registration fee will not be waived.

Other strong entries will also be considered for presentation at the
Congress. In order to ensure this consideration, entrants should submit
the entry also as an individual paper proposal for the Congress by the
deadline of 30 November 2016, following the standard instructions:

Entries for this essay prize are invited from anyone, without restriction
of age, nationality or academic status. Co-authored work will be
considered, but if the winning entry is a co-authored work the cash prize
and accommodation subsidy would need to be shared out among the authors.

This prize is administered by the Joint Commission, whose remit is to make
links between the work of the two Divisions of the IUHPST: the DHST
(Division of History of Science and Technology) and the DLMPST (Division
of Logic, Methodology and Philosophy of Science and Technology). For
further information about IUHPST, see

Entries for the prize competition should be submitted in pdf format by
e-mail to the Chair of the Joint Commission, Prof. Hasok Chang, Department
of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Any queries should also be directed to him. The deadline
for submission is 30 November 2016.