On behalf of the Governing Board of the Philosophy of Science Association, it is my pleasure to announce the results of the most recent PSA election.

Stephan Hartmann of Tilburg University, Roberta Millstein of the University of California-Davis, Nancy Nersessian of the Georgia Institute of Technology, and Andrea Woody of the University of Washington were elected to the Governing Board for the PSA, where each will serve a two-year term from January 1, 2010 through December 31, 2011. The Officers of the PSA congratulate Professors Hartmann and Millstein, and congratulate and welcome back Professors Nersessian and Woody for their second terms on the PSA Governing Board. The Officers also offer deep appreciation and thanks to Craig Callender of the University of California--San Diego and Alan Hájek of the Australian National Research University, both of whom are stepping down from the Board after serving two consecutive two-year terms.

Margaret Morrison of the University of Toronto, C. Kenneth Waters of the University of Minnesota, and Alison Wylie of Cambridge University/University of Washington were elected to serve as the new Nominating Committee for the PSA, where each will serve a two year term beginning January 1, 2009 and ending December 31, 2011. Along with a congratulations to the new Nominating Committee, the Officers of the PSA warmly thank the PSA's previous Nominating Committee, comprised of its chair, James Joyce of the University of Michigan, Rachel Ankeny of the University of Adelaide, and Roman Frigg of the London School of Economics and Political Science.

The proposed amendment to the PSA's By-Laws passed, 244-15. That means that in the upcoming 2010 PSA Election new Governing Board members will be elected to serve a single term of four years, and also limited to serving one consecutive term. The revised version of the PSA By-Laws will be posted shortly.

Finally, I am happy to report that of the 755 Full Members of the PSA eligible to vote at the election's start, 267, or slightly more than 35%, voted electronically in response to email solicitations. This is a slight drop from the 38% turn-out for 2008, possibly to be attributed to this being an odd-numbered, and thus non-Presidential, PSA Election.

I thank those many Full PSA members took the time to vote in this election. This PSA Election ran smoothly due in large part to the experience and dedication of Jay Malone and his staff at the History of Science Society. If you are a Full Member of the PSA and you encountered problems in voting electronically, though, or if you have any other comments, questions, or concerns about the 2009 PSA Election, please contact me at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Gary Hardcastle