The London School of Economics and Political Science announces that this year's Lakatos Award, of £10,000 for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, goes to: Peter Godfrey-Smith (Harvard University), for his book Darwinian Populations and Natural Selection (Oxford University Press, 2009). He will visit LSE to receive the Award and give the Award Public Lecture during summer term, 2011. The book develops a new analysis and extension of Darwin's idea of natural selection – one that draws on new developments in philosophy of science, biology and other fields. The central concept involved is that of a "Darwinian population," a collection of things with the capacity to undergo change by natural selection. From this starting point, new analyses of the role of genes in evolution, the application of Darwinian ideas to cultural change, and "evolutionary transitions" that produce complex organisms and societies are developed.

The Lakatos Award is given for an outstanding contribution to the philosophy of science, widely interpreted, in the form of a book published in English during the previous five years. It was made possible by a generous endowment from the Latsis Foundation. The Award is in memory of the former LSE professor, Imre Lakatos, and is administered by an international Management Committee organised from the LSE. The Committee, chaired by John Worrall, decides the outcome of the Award competition on the advice of an international, independent and anonymous panel of Selectors.

Nominations can now be made for the 2011 Lakatos Award, and must be received by Friday 22nd April 2011. The 2011 Award will be for a book published in English with an imprint from 2006-2011 inclusive. A book may, with the permission of the author, be nominated by any person of recognised standing within the profession. For further details of the nomination procedure or more information on the Lakatos Award 2011, contact the Administrator, Susanne Burri.